Categories
Uncategorized

Through

I went back to the adolescent unit to cover for a coworker. Back to where it all began. Every time I go back there it feels like I never left.

We had a good group. The teens were very engaged. One of them was a Japanese. Very isolated. Lonely. I could see myself in him, he also reminded me of some of my relatives. I tried to encourage him. Tell him that this is just a phase. That there are people in this world who will appreciate him for who he is.

There was another teen who was in the middle of a psychotic episode. Brought up conspiracy theories. The rabbit hole. I’ve been down that spiral too many times. I could only tell him to be careful of what he searches online, the YouTube videos. That the drugs will only send him further downward. He admitted he had a drug problem. Admitting is the first step to recovery. You’re already doing it and you just got here.

I also ran into a patient that I used to see all the time. It had been the first time she’s been back in almost a year. She had been in a treatment facility for 10 months. She seemed much calmer.  The treatment actually worked. I’m way more chill, quieter.

The other employees always ask where I’ve been. Tell me that they wish I was still there. You were the only one who could get through to the kids.

I don’t know what the future holds. I only want to be useful to the Lord in this field of mental health recovery. But if He puts me to work with the youth in the future, I won’t complain. It’s not easy for people to get through to these kids. I don’t know what I do different. But I pray for these young souls. That there would be more who can get through.

By jeremiahelin

bipolar survivor here to shed some light on personal journey through the highest of highs and lowest of lows

Leave a comment