Categories
Uncategorized

Another reminder

Another day. Another reminder. I had been waiting to hear back from a passport application. I sent it in nearly six months ago.

I finally found out what the hold up was. Apparently I’m not allowed to have a passport with outstanding felony warrants.

These warrants are old. The charges are from 2009. I had just graduated from Emory University. Had a major psychotic episode. Ended up in horrible situations and jail for months. Legal troubles that have haunted me for more than a decade.

These charges have kept me from jobs. Leasing apartments. Now it will prevent me from traveling outside the country. Not that I’m planning on an international vacation anytime soon. But there was discussion about traveling with my wife to Mexico if and when she has to go there for her immigration papers.

Just like yesterday’s news and events, today was another reminder. A reminder of my past. Of amends I still have to make. Of big choices and decisions that will require me to surrender to the Lord.

And I was just starting to feel more secure. Like things were only getting better. Obstacles dissolving. A clear path ahead. I guess the Lord had other plans.

Plans for me to keep turning to Him. Keep allowing him in all my affairs. Reminding me once again. That I don’t have it all together. That I can’t do it without Him. To trust.

Another reminder.

By jeremiahelin

bipolar survivor here to shed some light on personal journey through the highest of highs and lowest of lows

Leave a comment