Categories
Uncategorized

Triple Double

Double shifts, Three days in a row. Completed. Phew.

The past three days were busy. At times hectic. But I made it. The last hour of my shift I dealt with a table of 18. A bunch of teens having a birthday party. The type of group that can be difficult and not so rewarding.

There was a moment when I lost my cool. One girl changed her order after the food arrived. I was blamed for it. It’s not my fault. I basically yelled it. It took everything for me not to drop a four-letter word in there. Is the manager always a A-hole? I asked the always helpful assistant manager. No, you made a mistake, that’s just his way of letting you know.

It's not my fault. - Role Playing Game - T-Shirt | TeePublic

I grit my teeth. But things eventually began winding down. I apologized to my ASM for getting out of character. No worries, You were stressed. You’re human. Yes. Yes I am human. I make mistakes. But I hated getting blamed for something wrong that wasn’t my fault. Especially when I did a hundred things right and barely got acknowledged. Still, those five magic words…my reward is in heaven.

But I made it. The kids didn’t tip. But Dad and Grandma took care of me thankfully.

I made it through three doubles. Averaged 20,000 steps each day. Made as much in three days as I used to in one forty hour week. At the end of it all, I’m exhausted. But I am so grateful. None of this was supposed to be possible.

By jeremiahelin

bipolar survivor here to shed some light on personal journey through the highest of highs and lowest of lows

Leave a comment